This goat can run

As promised, we returned to The Stumbling Goat Bistro tonight, and with great relief and excitement I can report that the salty, stumbling Goat we met last month has shown us a most delightful gait.

We’ve been on a major eating-out binge, and this morning my mouth woke up tired. I bought a donut for breakfast at PCC and only ate half of it. I ordered Caesar salad for lunch, for chrissake, and we’re not talking appetizers. Even by the time we showed up for our 7 p.m. reservation, I wasn’t really in the mood for food. Please, I know what you’re thinking. I’m always hungry.

I ordered the wagyu beef tenderloin, served simply and effortlessly with roasted baby carrots, parsnips, turnips, and potatoes. No muss, no fuss, just a killer cut of beef with a nice (salted, but not overly salted) crust on the outside and satiny strands of animal on the inside that fell apart like pulled pork in my mouth. My husband’s albacore was seared just so, still cold to the touch in the center the way he likes it (he always touches it first), with an intriguing, slightly chunky pecan-arugula pesto.

We split the “lover’s cheesecake,” a 4″ round cheesecake for two based on chef Seth Caswell’s New York grandmother’s recipe, for dessert. (It should probably count as tomorrow’s breakfast, too.) It had the consistency of whipped cream cheese lightened with shower cream (I told you so), and because there was a significant amount of shower cream in the batter, it didn’t have the cloying aftertaste that makes me regret most cheesecakes for hours afterwards. Some people say cheesecake can be light, but until tonight I felt strongly that light cheesecakes were either a) made with lite ingredients or b) served in small portions. This is the cheesecake you have room for.

And now, after weeks of casting furtive glances in the Goat’s direction as I wait in the construction traffic across the street, hoping that our second encounter would overshadow our first unfortunate experience, I can finally drive by and announce that The Stumbling Goat Bistro is our neighborhood restaurant.

Stumbling Goat Bistro in Seattle

Leave a comment

Filed under review, Seattle

Leave a Reply

