Daily Archives: March 31, 2007

Learning something, eating good

My friend Cheryl wrote an article for Eating Well recently on wheat berries. (For whatever reason, my husband refuses to call the magazine “Eating Well”; Eating Good and Eating Bad are the current favorites.) I learned that wheat berries are whole, unprocessed wheat kernels; it’s flour before we rape it of all nutritional value. I’d never made them before.

I started with her master recipe, which requires nothing more than cooking the little grains in simmering water for an hour, and gives you a huge pile of succulent, crunchy berries. I loosely followed Cheryl’s recipe for Creamy Wheat Berry Porridge in an attempt to give my bagel habit a break, and loved the crunch the berries added to the oatmeal. Now I have all these great cooked berries – you can freeze them and add them to yogurt, soups, stews, whatever, as needed. I’m curious to try baking them into granola.

About two seconds after I finished my porridge, I laced a bowl of the wheat berries with lemon zest and juice, tomatoes, kalamata olives, capers, and plenty of fresh herbs. I can’t wait to try them with real summer produce!

Wheat Berry Salad with Herbs, Tomatoes, and Olives

Recipe for Wheat Berry Salad with Herbs, Tomatoes, and Olives
Recipe 90 of 365

Think of wheat berries as your new blank slate – add any chopped leftover veggies, roasted meats, tofu, or canned tuna to the salad, or serve it on a big bed of greens for a satisfying lunch.

TIME: 15 minutes (with cooked berries)
MAKES: 4 servings

2 cups cooked wheat berries (click here for a master recipe)
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
Zest and juice of 1 large lemon
3 large Roma tomatoes, chopped
2 packed tablespoons each chopped fresh chives, mint, and parsley
1/2 cup pitted Kalamata olives, sliced
2 tablespoons capers

Mix all the ingredients together in a large mixing bowl until well blended. Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Lunch, media, recipe, side dish, vegetables