Oatmeal cookies for dogs

I’d like to say I wouldn’t normally do this sort of thing, or even I’ve never done this before, but we all know I’d be lying.

Tester-approved.

Dog begging for her cookie

Recipe for Oatmeal Cookies for Dogs
Recipe 162 of 365

Inspired by a book called Real Food for Dogs, this is my first self-directed foray into the canine culinary world. They’re easy, and although I didn’t like them so much myself, according to Bromley and Scout, they’re quite tasty. Mmm, lowfat chicken-flavored pie crust.

TIME: 15 minutes, plus 15 minutes baking time
MAKES: 5 to 6 dozen

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup whole oats
1 cup yellow cornmeal
2 teaspoons salt
2 large eggs
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/2 cup chicken broth

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicon baking mat, and set aside.

Using a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment (or a hand mixer), stir the dry ingredients just to blend. Whisk the eggs, oil, and broth in a small bowl to blend, then add to the dry ingredients and mix on low speed until completely combined. The mixture should have roughly the texture of cookie dough.

Dump the dough onto a large cutting board (or wooden counter), gather it together with your hands into a big ball, and roll it out to about 1/2” thick. (The dough may seem crumbly, but like pie crust, this is okay.) Use a pizza slicer to cut it into 3/4” squares. Transfer the squares to the baking sheet, leaving about 1/4”- 1/2” between each square (they won’t spread much), and bake for 15 minutes, or until hard and beginning to brown.

Cool completely, and seal in an airtight container.

Oatmeal cookies for Dogs in jar

7 Comments

Filed under dog, recipe

7 responses to “Oatmeal cookies for dogs

  1. I can’t wait to make these for my doggie friends! They are going to love them. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

  2. SAWII

    Awesome! I am going to make some this weekend!
    How about peanut butter flavored too? Just add peanut butter instead of chicken broth?

  3. For peanut butter, I’d go with the full broth amount, reduce the oil to 2 tablespoons, and add, say, 1/2 cup peanut butter. Let us know how it they out!

  4. shir

    it is incredible to find this kind of recipes online. I was so silly to buy cookies for my dogs because now i can make them. Thanks for the recipes and i am going to buy the book too.

  5. These got a fabulous review from my little guy!

  6. Pingback: Christmas Baking « Mystery House

  7. Dog Lover

    These were a great hit with my dogs and friends dogs! I used cookie cutters to make them for the holidays!! Try this one out, your dog will LOVE it

Leave a Reply

