Two lists, from two hundred

Looking through the year, it’s hard to imagine making some of the recipes I made in January – who wants to eat pot roast right now?

But that’s how he works, Father Time: strangely. At one hundred, I listed my favorites. In light of my recent hankering for repetition, I flipped through the (now) two hundred entries in my recipe journal to make you two lists:

Recipes from 2007 that I’ve made more than once (more than I thought, and mostly quick ones):

1. Vodka Tonic with Pomegranate and Pernod
2. Parmesan-Garlic Breadsticks
3. Variations on No-Knead Bread (more times than I can count)
4. Goat Cheese with Kalamata Olives and Sundried Tomatoes
5. Butter-Titrated Brownies
6. Mixed Seafood Roast with Fennel and Sorrel
7. Chicken Stock
8. Hot Tangy Beans
9. Sari’s Tuna Salad (at least five times)
10. Shallot Cream Dressing
11. Rhubarb-Apple Crisp
12. Eggs Carlos
13. Olive Oil-Vanilla Cake (four times, I think)
14. Creamy Chopped Salad with Chickpeas and Cucumbers
15. A Different Kind of Guacamole (don’t ask about the time a friend added a cup of lime juice instead of a tablespoon)
16. Roasted Pepper Vichyssoise
17. Apricots with Blue Cheese, Pistachios, and Honey
18. Lambic Float (try peach!)

Recipes Tito wants me to make again (I told him to pick three):

1. Rustic Salty Cashew Shortbread
2. Andouille-Green Chili Hash
3. Grilled Pork Tenderloin with Cocoa Spice Rub
4. Gnocchi with Morels and Mascarpone Cream
5. Baked Trout with Peppers, Tomato, and Capers

5 Comments

Filed under Et cetera

5 responses to “Two lists, from two hundred

  1. What? Green Chile Pie didn’t make the list?

  2. Tito’s, you mean? No, not yet. Maybe he was just going for mileage, things he didn’t think I’d make again. GCP is a given.

  3. patryk

    Hey — do you have any recipies for artichokes — especially the dipping sauce? We’re going artichoke CRAZY over here and would love to try out something new.

    Have a great weekend!

  4. This is a great aioli – just use 1/2 cup olive oil and nix the truffle oil, if you want, or stir in almost anything – paprika, lemon zest, sundried tomatoes, capers, jalapenos . . .or try searching at epicurious.com, they’ve always got great recipes!

  5. jaimi

    tito’s list is similar to mine…these are some of my favorites. there’s so much i still haven’t tried, but as i mentioned a few weeks ago, reading the recipes teaches me so much about flavors and simpler ways to cook flavorful and delicious food. thanks again!

Leave a Reply

