Simple

I’ve seen you at the Skagit River Ranch stand at the farmers’ market. You look at the menu, and your eyes fall on tenderloin. Essh, your eyes say. I’m not sure I can pay more than $20/pound for beef. You pick up the spare ribs, calculating how much time you’ll have to make dinner, and put them back. You open one cooler after the next, wanting to buy something because you like the idea of buying local meat, but each time you pick up a frozen package and turn it around in your hands, your brain also freezes. What do I do with this?

The answer? Not much. Buy an eye of round roast, just a little guy, about a pound and a half. (This cut is cheaper, but makes a gorgeous little roast, perfect for two people with a love for leftovers.) Roast it gently, coated with rosemary, and when you bring the first forkful to your tongue, you’ll know you don’t have to buy the most expensive stuff.

Rosemary Roast Beef

Recipe 312 of 365: Simple Rosemary Roast Beef

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Pat a 1 1/2 pound eye of round roast dry, and rub it with a teaspoon or so of olive oil. Pat 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt, 1 teaspoon freshly ground pepper, and 2 tablespoons chopped fresh rosemary into the skin, and roast for 30 to 45 minutes, until the temperature reads 130 degrees in the center, for medium rare. Let the roast rest for about 10 minutes before carving and serving.

4 Comments

Filed under Beef, farmer's market, recipe

4 responses to “Simple

  1. hannehanne

    I always get nervous around all those cuts of meat. Thanks for some great ideas! Plus your recipe is just the right size for me and my husband. When I go up to the market this weekend I think we’ll take your advice.

  2. brilliant. I adore recipes that are so simple to make, with simple and few ingredients and no doubt, melt in your mouth.

    I adore markets, I go to the one in the University district—though not nearly enough…

  3. Skagit River Ranch is at the Ballard Farmer’s Market on Sunday’s right? I think I might be picking one of these up…

  4. Yeah, SRR is at both the UD and the Ballard markets . . .but go early, they run out of stuff pretty quickly.

    And good lord, do yourself a favor and buy some bacon.

Leave a Reply

