Oh, me? Oh, my.

Wowie zowie. That’s what my dad would say.

This year’s Best Food Writing is out, and guess what? I’m in it, for the piece I wrote on Alinea last year, right here on hogwash.

If you know me well, you know my best exclamations are unfit for large audiences, but suffice it to say that I’m thrilled, and oh, so humbled. Little old me, snuggled into the same pages not only as great Seattle writers – I squealed out loud when I realized my piece was printed right next to Bethany Jean Clement’s – but also near the untouchables: Michael Pollan, Calvin Trillin, Frank Bruni, David Leite . . . (And Peter Sagal of Wait! Wait! He writes about food!) The last page of my piece is actually touching the first of Dan Barber’s. As if.

Thank you, a million times. Especially you and you.

I, for one, will be doing some reading this week.

If you’re up for more, I also have some November reading links for you, and lots of recipes – apologies, I’ve been so derelict in posting them over the past few months.

Here’s Yes, We Cran (PDF) an election-appropriate piece on Washington cranberries from Seattle Metropolitan magazine. (Have you voted yet? Go.)

For recipes, check out the fall issue of Edible Seattle (the one with the pie recipe), where my column features apple recipes, including a cider-braised pork shoulder that has to happen again in this house soon.

If you’re looking for a bit of adventure, try some of the Thai recipes by Seattle cooking instructor Pranee Halvorsen. I wrote about my class with her for the November issue of Seattle Homes & Lifestyles magazine. (If you try nothing else – which would be a shame, because the recipes are stellar – try the baked coconut-lemongrass rice.)

This month also brings my first full recipe feature in Arthritis Today magazine. (Admit it. You have a secret stash of them under your bed.) The recipes for a no-chop holiday dinner are up, so if the last thing you need to spend in the kitchen is effort, head over.

Most fun, of possibly all the food-related profiles I’ve ever done, was my day with the Urbanspoon folks, detailed in a story in the November issue of Sunset, along with a few other bits and pieces on Seattle stuff. (“It’s hard to eat a cookie and jump off a house at the same time.”)

Thanks for listening to me toot. I feel much better now. And slightly lightheaded.

13 Comments

Filed under media

13 responses to “Oh, me? Oh, my.

  1. Wow, Jess that is freaking bigtime. Congrats, and I just read the piece today — brilliant! I’ve been interested in making the trek to Alinea since the Grant Achatz New Yorker piece came out earlier this year. Now I’m even more excited, and terrified :)

  2. PAT H. (Kim's Mom)

    Jess, that is wonderful… something to add to my
    Brag list at the Bridge game…xxxx P & F

  3. Melanie

    Awesome!! I’m so impressed with the amazing career you’ve made for yourself! Love, Mel

  4. Rachel H.

    That piece about Alina was amazing, Jess. It totally deserves to be published! (and I checked that a copy has been ordered at the Falmouth public library)

  5. Congratulations, Jess! Wonderful news. I’ll have to pick up a copy.

    And how did you know about my Arthritis Today collection? I thought that was just between me and the dust bunnies.

  6. OMG Jess, that is amazing! Congratulations!!!

  7. this is amazing! Congrats! (and might I add as a designer, what a beautiful cover!)

  8. Ax

    Awesome news, but not surprising. Just last night I directed a student – working on a French organs article – to read you for inspiration. You rock, gal!

  9. Thanks, all. Appreciate it.

  10. Jen

    Many congrats Jess! What a grand accomplishment :) I discovered your winning piece on Greenbrier’s Food Writing Symposium site as I’m hoping to make it there next year, and have been reading Leite’s since the get-go. Looking forward to reading more!

    Cheers,
    Jen

  11. my wife and I just read your piece in the book, and it had us in stitches. Marvelous marvelous stuff!

  12. Pingback: Giveaway: Pike Place Market Recipes- Yay Today!

Leave a Reply

