Small bites

Onion Shallot Dip 2

Today, just a few little bites for you:

In last month’s issue of Edible Seattle, the recipe I was most excited about was accidentally omitted. Just dropped, like a favorite mitten on a day that warms up unexpectedly. (These things happen.) But it’s described right there, in the sidebar of my column, so if you’ve been on a caramelized onion bender, like I have, you probably searched the magazine front to back for that caramelized onion and shallot dip, to no avail. It’s here.

If you can stand all the bad jokes your eating partners provide (“Stop! You’re kaling me!”), try this roasted kale, from Tuesday Recipe. It’s curiously crunchy and snappy in the mouth, and not even the tiniest bit slimy. And with that hit of sherry vinegar at the end, it’s a little addictive. Last night, I dumped it onto a baking sheet, along with 2 little slabs of salmon and some cauliflower. We popped fat slices of whole grain bread into the toaster, and dinner was ready in 15 minutes. Maybe less.

From Seattle Metropolitan magazine, here’s a bit of info on local duck (PDF), Northwest flour (PDF), and (my favorite) Washington cheeses. From Arthritis Today, a recipe for lentil hummus. You’ll find a few things with my name on them in this month’s Sunset, and Culinate has tips (some mine) on how to green your kitchen, by Seattle author Nancy Schatz Alton.

And okay, now, to be honest, I’m feeling a little guilty about picking favorites from Edible Seattle. That beet salad is a close runner-up, and the goat cheese with honey and lavender – the one on the cover – I could so eat that for second breakfast. Now. But this morning my husband is making gorgeous omelets with leftover lamb, singing “alouette,” that old French song, at the top of his lungs. Only he’s a chronic lyric changer, so it’s lamb-e-lette, gentille lamb-e-lette . . . so no goat cheese. Just lots of laughter.

Onion Shallot Dip 1
Caramelized Onion and Shallot Dip

4 Comments

Filed under appetizers, recipe

4 responses to “Small bites

  1. Jess, man-oh-man. Homemade onion dip… Barefoot Contessa has a similar recipe, and I can trace the extra weight around my hips directly to it. Your recipe looks awesome. Love the idea of shallots too. Niccccee. :)

    ~C

  2. Bree

    Alouette! I loved that song as a kid! How are you? Paraffin soon?

  3. That dip looks fan-freaking-tastic! I have a secret addiction to onion soup based dip. It’s one of the few processed foods that I will eat with complete, gluttonous abandon.

  4. Kay Day

    Jess,
    I had printed out your “Easy Homemade Lentil Hummus” recipe sometime ago – I have no idea when. Tonight my husband and I wanted nan with hummus, tomatoes, and feta cheese. Alas, no lentils in the house. No garbanzos in the house. But…I found a can of great northern beans. Added two tablespoons extra tahini, added a bit more lemon juice, and a lot of cumin (we both really like it). Wow, were we surprised. Really, really good hummus! Even with canned beans! Thank you so much for your recipe. Can’t wait to make it with garbanzos that I will cook.

Leave a Reply

