Inspired by Trader Joe’s, Part 3

Assisted by a fairly mild but undeniable form of OCD, I often get on method cooking kicks – I’ll braise every day for a week, for example, or discover the marvels of a broiler for nine days straight. A few months ago I was cooking pasta with ingredients that could be added directly to the pasta water (with the pasta), at intervals based on the size of the ingredients. For example, it so happens that if you cut butternut squash into batons the same size and shape of penne pasta, the squash and the pasta need about the same amount of time to cook, so you can cook them together and then toss in whatever (goat cheese, olive oil, bacon, and pine nuts, for example) you want.

Yesterday when I was walking by the new products shelf at TJ’s, a package of whole wheat gnocchi caught my eye. The gnocchi looked to be about the same size as the pre-cut butternut squash cubes I’d just passed, so I picked up a packet of each. They got along just splendidly. A wonderful quick winter meal that ensures me that someday, very soon, I will no longer be sick.

Whole Wheat Gnocchi with Butternut Squash and Sage Brown Butter

Recipe for Whole Wheat Gnocchi with Butternut Squash and Sage Brown Butter

Leave a comment

Filed under Italian, Pasta, recipe, vegetables

Leave a Reply

