Menemsha and Meyer Lemons

When I think of swordfish, I think of the giant statue across the street from Larsen’s Fish Market in Menemsha, on Martha’s Vineyard, and about how a girl I was once with there spotted Meg Ryan buying fish, and how we were all so floored by how much cooler Meg Ryan looks buying fish than the rest of us do.

I also think of the Monterey Bay Aquarium’s useful and educational seafood buying guides, which suggest regionally-specific fish-buying choices that might help preserve our own health and that of our oceans. Then I wonder why it is that despite having multiple pockets, purses, notebooks, and reusable tote bags devoted uniquely to grocery shopping, I can’t seem to get into the grocery store with MBA’s convenient pocket-size guide at hand. I think I have four of them. Why is that?

I do love swordfish, and , according to what the MBA says about it, I can probably start eating it a little more regularly than I have been. The other night, I made what turned out to be a most pleasing cross between a chutney and some sort of lemony butter sauce; it’s a “marmalade butter” that turns out to be an excellent toast topping for those with a hankering for full citrus flavor in the morning.

Here’s the seared swordfish:

Pan-Seared Swordfish

And the finished dish:

Swordfish with Meyer Lemon-Rosemary Marmalade Butter

Recipe for Swordfish with Meyer Lemon-Rosemary Marmalade Butter

2 Comments

Filed under fish, food politics, recipe

2 responses to “Menemsha and Meyer Lemons

  1. Hi Jess! That looks like good fish- but come on, swordfish will never be as good as a freshly caught blue or bass from the Hole! j/k. So I was inspired and started my own blog (davesutherland.wordpress.com, just two days old and not about food, so if you’re reading this comment don’t be fooled!). and don’t fret, it’ll get better I promise.

    And feel free to pass on any blogging wisdom…

  2. I have never been to Monterey Bay Aquarium, but having an aquarium provide seafood dining guide doesn’t sound so right to me….

Leave a Reply

