Cointreauversial

I do like the ads Cointreau has been running lately, but they haven’t convinced me to buy more Cointreau. They’ve only prevented me from saying “controversial” correctly. But anyway.

I wrote a piece on food blogging for yesterday’s Boston Globe (and here’s the sidebar with a list of great food blogs, thanks Joe!). It’s gotten a little attention, by golly. In good humor, Serious Eats jabbed at my first sentence (well, not my first sentence, truth be told, with all due respect). Stephen of Stephen Cooks also pitched in, with opinions that I almost entirely agree with.

So maybe this isn’t really a controversy, but here’s more proverbial food for thought: although their online site gets about 4.1 million readers, the Boston Globe still has a print readership of 2.2 million. Many self-respecting food bloggers will probably agree with Stephen (and yeah, why don’t they enter hyperlinks in the text online?), but has your “guess what I read in the paper?” mother/grandmother/aunt checked your blog recently? If so, cool. If not, my piece probably taught her something, and maybe even encouraged her to use a format that wasn’t around when she was a wee lass. And oh, yeah, my hippest friend, who’s also a chef and always knows about the new new thing (she sports a fauxhawk, for chrissakes), is just learning what a blog is. So let’s remember our roots. None of us blogged in diapers (though I think Iris might get there soon).

That said, mainstream media is definitely slow on the blog uptake. The Julie/Julia Project is indeed very, very old news. (I hear the blogs rapping: “Don’t call it a comeback, I’ve been here for years.”) But remember when someone first explained what biodeisel was to you? Does that mean you don’t want the basics of fuel efficiency outlined for someone who’s a little behind the power curve?

How lucky am I, methinks, to have separate outlets for reporting and for opining.

3 Comments

Filed under commentary, media

3 responses to “Cointreauversial

  1. Good points, Jessica. It’s true that papers have many many subscribers who either don’t know what blogs are (let alone foodblogs) or who don’t know that a particular blog exists.

    I liked your exploration of “recipe rot” in that piece and had never really thought of it in that way before. I guess because I cook out of pretty basic cookbooks — the old standbys.

  2. Oops … hit “submit” too quickly. Moreover, the sider on that had some new-to-me blogs. And, yeah … it was in good humor. It’s always nice to see blogging — and, especially, foodblogs😉 — get props.

Leave a Reply

