Finding hominy

By definition, a good vacation is long enough that you have to eat all your produce before you go, which for me means coming back to a cold, condiment-studded oasis of a refrigerator. I invariably turn to pantry adventure.

Today I started with a can of hominy, which has a chewy texture I love. I can’t help but envision some poor yoga instructor with a speech impediment somewhere, urging her students to find hominy.

Anyway, I had lunch at Cafe Stellina on Capitol Hill a few weeks ago, and as I picked at my Rosemary Chicken Pot Pie, which lacked a believable rosemary punch and came not in a pot, but in an unsuccessfully microwaved bowl, I wished I’d ordered my neighbor’s hominy stew. It wasn’t particularly pretty, but it looked comforting and spicy enough to warm, say, a body used to four days of 80+ degree weather.

Hominy and Sweet Potato Soup

Recipe for Hominy and Sweet Potato Soup
Recipe 44 of 365

This quick, simple soup is (gasp!) totally vegetarian, but feel free to make it with chicken stock, adding leftover chopped chicken, pulled pork, or cooked, crumbled bacon to the top. Any potato variety should work well here, too.

TIME: 30 minutes
MAKES: 4 servings

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 large onion, chopped
Salt and freshly ground pepper
2 large garlic cloves, finely chopped
1 (7-ounce) can diced green chilies (I used fire-roasted)
1 pound sweet potatoes, peeled and diced
1 (29-ounce) can Mexican-style hominy, drained
1 (15-ounce) can tomato sauce
3 cups vegetable broth or stock
2 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro (optional)
Sour cream, goat cheese, or queso fresco, for garnish

Heat a soup pot over medium heat. When hot, add the oil, then the onions, season with salt and pepper, and cook, stirring occasionally, until the onions are soft, about 5 minutes. Add the garlic and the chilies, and cook a few more minutes, stirring. Add the sweet potatoes, hominy, tomato sauce, and broth, and stir to combine. Season again with salt and pepper, and simmer the soup, stirring occasionally, for about 15 minutes, or until the sweet potatoes are cooked through. Stir in the cilantro, if using.

Serve the soup hot, with plenty of sour cream and/or cheese.

2 Comments

Filed under Lunch, mexican, recipe, soup, vegetables

2 responses to “Finding hominy

  1. Jess,

    Have you tried the posole at Gordito’s? (actually, have you tried Gordito’s, period? It’s on N. 85th just a half block west of Greenwood) They can be a tad heavy-handed with the salt, but like you I’m a saltaholic so I don’t mind. It’s especially good if you’ve over imbibed the night before (not that I’ve ever done that)
    🙂

  2. Noooo I still haven’t been there . . .it’s on the list! I’ll definitely check out the posole!

Leave a Reply

