Yard work hash

In preparation for a morning of yard work in the rain last Saturday, my husband started writing us a song. He does this periodically – well, almost every day, now that I think about it – and writing is a bit of a misnomer. He’s really singing, except whichever song lucky enough to be the focus of his attention receives a total lyrical overhaul. Since the creations are spontaneous, their quality varies wildly. (And by the way, have I mentioned that my husband is a physicist?)

This morning? Weird Al‘s “White and Nerdy,” itself a version of “Ridin’ Dirty,” rewritten for the dog as “Brown and Furry.”

“You see me eatin’ . . .my kibble . . .and now I’m beggin’ beggin’ beggin’ for your bagel.”

Fun, but not a chart topper.

But some become favorites, like James Taylor‘s “Mexico,” rewritten as an entire Mexican restaurant menu (complete with dish descriptions), or The Samples‘s “Did you ever look so nice” crooned with the refrain “Did you ever eat fried rice?” in a register more than a hair out of his natural vocal range. Now every time I hear the Samples song I turn in surprise when the speakers’ lyrics don’t match the ones that come most automatically out of my mouth.

So last weekend, as I mindlessly chopped scallions and wondered where I’d put the little planting trowel I may or may not have purchased when we moved in last fall, he translated DMB‘s “Satellite” into “Seattleite,” and I burst out laughing. It’ll be one of my favorites – and it would be yours, too, if you’d heard the Adam Sandler-quality observations on our life in Seattle. I’m sure he’s not the first person to come up with it, but I give him credit; I’ve been singing it ever since.

“Seattleite,” and a really killer breakfast made with the (surprisngly, pre-cooked) andouille sausage from my Skagit River Ranch stash, a bunch of little Russets from the farmer’s market, and two (if I do say so myself) perfectly poached eggs were just what I needed to get me going.

If you’ve never done it, here‘s a good video on how to poach an egg. I tend to go heavy on the vinegar.

Andouille-Green Chili Hash 2

Recipe for Andouille-Green Chili Hash
Recipe 67 of 365

You can use any kind of sausage, but I love the spiciness of good Andouille sausage.
Top the hash with ketchup, salsa, or sour cream, if desired.

TIME: 30 minutes
MAKES: 2 servings

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tablespoon unsalted butter
1/2 pound Russet potatoes, peeled and diced into 1/2” pieces
Salt and freshly ground pepper
1/4 teaspoon paprika
2 spicy andouille sausages, cooked and sliced into 1/2” rounds
1 (4-ounce) can diced green chilies, drained
2 scallions, sliced thin (green and white parts)
3/4 cup shredded sharp cheddar or Monterey jack cheese (loosely packed)
2 large eggs, to be poached with a dash of white vinegar

First, heat a high-sided skillet or wide saucepan filled 3/4 of the way with water to a bare simmer.

Heat another large skillet over medium-high heat. When hot, add the oil and the butter. When the butter has melted, swirl the pan to combine the two, then add the potatoes. Season with salt, pepper, and the paprika, and cook until browned on all sides (about 5 minutes), stirring occasionally. Add the sliced sausages to the browned potatoes, and cook another 5 minutes, or until the sausages begin to brown.

While the sausages cook, crack each egg into a small ramekin, add a dash of vinegar to the poaching liquid, and poach the eggs (they should take about 4 minutes).

Add the diced chilies and half the scallions to the potato/sausage mixture, and cook another minute or two, stirring. Season to taste again with salt and pepper, if necessary.

Divide the hash between two plates, top with the cheese and the remaining scallions, and carefully place a just-poached egg on the top of each pile. Serve immediately.

1 Comment

Filed under Breakfast, farmer's market, husband, pork, recipe

One response to “Yard work hash

  1. Pingback: The Diana Ross of coffee cakes « hogwash

Leave a Reply

