Until the juices run clear

You know how some chicken recipes instruct you to roast the chicken until the juices run clear when you poke it? That’s how my brain feels these days: I’ve poked it enough that the juices are running clear. This chicken is cooked. I’m a lot less clickity clat (= good), but sometimes I think it’s the Worry Board that keeps the creative machinery lubed, so to speak.

A recipe a day means time, of course, but also creativity, and today, after 150 or so, I’m feeling like one dried out bird.

So. Whatchoo wanna learn about? Or what do you want to read about me learning about?

I need to put a whole new chicken in the oven, and though the sun shines bright, summer produce just isn’t quite here yet.

3 Comments

Filed under commentary

3 responses to “Until the juices run clear

  1. Kim

    I can’t remember how I found your website, but I did. And I’m elated. Not just because we live in the same city, but more so because you blend your life into your food. Thanks.

    While I live here, I work over in Yakima and Cle Elum (other side of Snoqualmie Pass for the geographically challenged folks), where I have learned about where we get our food and what’s in season. Not only is it asparagus season (ending soon though), but the cherries are here now. CHERRIES! Talk to me about cherries. But don’t tell me about cherry pie. Help me make a delicious dessert that’s crunchy and smooth and lush using our delicious state cherries.

    And sausage. Chorizo sausage. I am addicted to Uli’s Chorizo Sausage. You will find Uli’s in Pike Market. Teach me a delicious chorizo dish that’s not a taco.

    Thanks for what you do.

    Kim

  2. Thanks so much, Kim! Cherries and chorizo it is.

  3. Pingback: A holiday rut « hogwash

Leave a Reply

