Dinner parties, art, and diamonds

Here are three things that make me happy:

1. Dinner parties. A reader sent me a photograph of a recent get-together, where they made the beet salad and some tilapia tacos:

feastin

This is why I write this blog: not because I expect to invent the best recipes in the world, or have the snazziest, most beautiful photographs, but because I relish the possibility that convincing someone to cook something will bring people together. Happy Birthday, John and David.

2. Art. At about 9:30 p.m. the other night, a neighbor’s kid knocked on the door timidly, her ten-year-old hands carefully cradling a picture she said she’d been working on all evening. It was a pencil drawing of our house, and a darned good one, at that.

Thalia's drawing

Just like that, a gift that made my night. Thank you, Thalia.

3. Diamonds. Diamonds make me feel good. Well, specifically, the diamond dust embedded in this cool pan I received in the mail a few weeks ago, which I’ve been meaning to applaud out loud. Think about it: have you ever heard of anyone’s diamond ring getting ruined because something stuck to the diamond itself? No. Anyway, I’m usually not a big bling chaser, but anytime a diamond pan comes my way, I’ll take it. Think of it as the cook’s right hand ring.

Swiss Diamond pan

It’s earned the closest-to-the-stove spot on my pot rack. It’s made by a company called Swiss Diamond, and as far as I can tell, it has all the advantages of both nonstick pans (without the health hazards, and it can take high heat) but also browns things pretty well. I use it for eggs and fish, mostly.

This morning I used the three egg whites leftover from the chocolate-cherry cakes to make an omelet – just whisked them up with a tablespoon or so of milk and salt and pepper, poured them in the pan, and added some goat cheese, tomatoes, and arugula when the whites were almost set. Folded it over when the whites set, and presto: nutritious, lower-fat breakfast for Jess.

egg white omelet

Which is a good thing, by the way, because those little cakes? I made eight of them. And darn, they’re still tasty a few days later.

1 Comment

Filed under Breakfast, commentary, products

One response to “Dinner parties, art, and diamonds

  1. My dear brother reminds me that officially, I believe, the traditional Vermonter is made with sliced ham. Maple ham, I presume.

Leave a Reply

