Tito’s Guac

If you’ve ever lived with someone, you know how certain tasks fall to certain hands. In our house, my husband almost always makes the coffee. I make salad dressing. He lights the grill. I make salsa, but he always chops the jalapeño peppers, because I can’t seem to do it without lighting my eyes on fire, no matter how cognizant I am of where I put my fingers.

The last time we made guacamole, I wanted something with good texture and a bit of spice, and my husband offered to make it using the ingredients I’d lined up on the counter. I raised my eyebrows: he’d never offered before.

“Missing something,” he announced when he was done. I passed him the salt and pepper. He added tomatoes. He still looked unhappy.

“You know what this needs?” he asked.

“No,” I said, “I don’t.”

“Margaritas.”

Indeed.

This is why we can finish a whole bowl in one sitting:

Tito eating guac

Recipe for Tito’s Guacamole (PDF)
Recipe 220 of 365

TIME: 30 minutes, for Tito
MAKES: 4 servings

3 ripe avocados
1 small jalapeño pepper, finely chopped
1 large garlic clove, finely chopped
Juice of 1 large lime
1/4 cup finely chopped yellow onion
2 tablespooons chopped fresh cilantro
1 ripe tomato, chopped
Salt and pepper, to taste

Mash the avocados in a small bowl, leaving some parts chunky. Stir in the remaining ingredients, and season to taste with salt and pepper. Serve with tortilla chips and margaritas.

1 Comment

Filed under appetizers, mexican, recipe

One response to “Tito’s Guac

Leave a Reply

