227: Pesto, Bleu Cheese, and Pancetta Pizza

IMG_2857

Tito had a pizza the other night at Fore Street that has been following me in my mind, perhaps because I’d never had bleu cheese on pizza before. How have I missed that all these years?

If you smear a long cutting board with cornmeal or a little extra flour, you can usually get the raw pizza to slide back and forth on it, which makes transferring it to a hot pizza stone easier if you (like me) don’t have a proper pizza peel. That’s what I usually do. Only this time, I got a little overzealous, and dumped the pizza onto the stone with such speed that it flew halfway off the back of the stone and crashed into the oven’s back wall, pancetta bits falling to the floor of the oven. I wish I had a video of my valiant husband, donning mitts to wrangle the limp pizza back onto the stone, where it stayed put, miraculously unscathed. So much for a hot oven.

Pesto, Bleu Cheese, and Pancetta Pizza
Preheat the oven to 475, and let a pound of lightly floured premade pizza dough (or homemade, whatever) come up to room temp on a board. Cook up about 1/4 pound finely diced pancetta, and drain on paper towels. Roll the dough out thin, slather it with about 1/2 cup of thick pesto, then sprinkle with 1/2 cup crumbled bleu cheese and the pancetta. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, or until the crust is good and brown, on a preheated pizza stone if you have one – time will depend on the thickness of your crust (I don’t think I rolled mine thin enough for this one).

1 Comment

Filed under appetizers, Italian, recipe

One response to “227: Pesto, Bleu Cheese, and Pancetta Pizza

  1. From my friend Michaela:

    My newest technique is by far my favorite pizza trick. If you by 1 #, of
    dough, cut it in half, and oil. Let your dough prof on a baking sheet,
    covered with saran. Turn your grill on high. When risen, smash down and
    press out to about 12X12. Llwer grill to medium, and place the stretched
    out dough across the grill. Brush the raw side with garlic oil, and when
    there are good grill marks, flip the dough. You want it mmostly cooked
    through. Then, add your topping and pop onto a stone in a 475 oven
    (without overzealously throwing it) for 5 minutes. Crispy, gorgeous
    pizza.

    Now, I know that this sounds like a lot of work for one pizza, but I
    typically grill about 5 #s (10 pizzas), wrap them tightly and freeze them.
    Good for 3 months. You can pull them right out of the freezer, top them,
    and pop into the oven without thawing. That gives you 10 dinners under 10
    minutes each.

    And now I’m hungry.

Leave a Reply

