Salt-Roasted Fingerling Potatoes

Salt-Roasted Fingerling Potatoes

Last weekend, I couldn’t go to the farmers’ market, so I shoved a $20 bill into a friend’s hand and begged him to go for me. It was a terrific idea. You know how everyone else‘s fridge seems to have all the perfect ingredients? Everyone else has the shoes you need? Everyone else‘s house is stocked with the things you wished you had?

Sending someone else to the farmers’ market meant I didn’t get to do all the things I love doing – talking to the farmers, watching my dog eat produce off the ground, etc. But it did mean that my kitchen saw things I might not normally buy, things I might pass over. I ended up with those pluots and a mammoth bunch of celery, with all the leaves, and a few kinds of potatoes.

Here’s a quickie, for those of you who like salt as much as I do. If there are days when you’ve actually caught yourself considering salt a main ingredient, these will make you happy.

Recipe 242 of 365: Salt-Roasted Fingerling Potatoes

Toss a generous pound of scrubbed fresh fingerlings in a bowl with a tablespoon of olive oil. Sprinkle in a teaspoon of kosher or sea salt, toss to coat, and roast in a baking dish at 450 degrees for about 30 to 40 minutes, depending on the size of your potatoes, or until the potatoes are soft all the way through and the skins begin to lift off the flesh. Serve hot.

Leave a comment

Filed under farmer's market, recipe, side dish, vegetables

Leave a Reply

