Feeling Pressed

Scores of people have made it through house construction before. Heck, people remodel their entire homes and make do with workmen scurrying about for months on end, without kitchens, bathrooms, etc. But somehow, today, I feel like the only person on the planet who has to live through this. Every three and a half seconds a sledgehammer hits the concrete that covers the place where our sewer line comes out of our house, and the whole structure shakes. A photograph’s backstay collapsed and the photo crashed to the floor just now. And they’ve only been here for – what is it now? – about fifteen minutes.

The plumbers were supposed to start yesterday, which of course meant today, and I had the audacity to plan around the schedule they proposed last week. Today was supposed to be a quiet day, with no running water, but now that’s tomorrow – today is sledgehammering and concrete-sawing day. It coincides nicely with SLAM the phone interviews SLAM I had planned for the SLAM day. I have poblano peppers and tomatoes and beautiful, bright-leafed celery waiting in my fridge, which is directly above the slamming, and I can’t be in the kitchen for more than about six slams before I have to leave. How do people do this?

It comes down to this: I am so bad at being trapped, pressed into a corner when I want to roam free. Rather, I’m so good at convincing myself that I’m stuck in situations that are really beyond my control. I want to stay home and do my phone interviews and nap away the aching left in my body from a weekend of painting, and cook something for the folks at the hardware store, all in my pajamas. But no, today will be a coffee shop day, I’ll get my derrière into the shower (because it still works), then tote my broken computer over to Herkimer and type away there, hopping outside every fifteen minutes for a phone call. Grrr.

At least I have a panini press to save me from having to spend more than 10 more seconds here.

Chicken, Zucchini, Tomato, and Goat Cheese Panini 2

Recipe 248 of 365: Grilled Zucchini, Chicken, Tomato, and Goat Cheese Sandwich To Go

Preheat a sandwich press. Slice a small zucchini lengthwise into 1/4″ strips. Spray the strips lightly with olive oil spray on both sides, and grill in the press for a few minutes, until browned. Meanwhile, load a piece of whole grain bread with goat cheese, fresh tomato slices, and pulled chicken. When the zucchini is done, add it to the sandwich, and top with another slice of bread. Spray the top piece of bread with the olive oil spray, flip the sandwich onto the grill (with the oiled side down), and spray the second piece of bread with the olive oil. Grill for a few minutes, or until the cheese is melting and the bread is nicely toasted. Eat and run.

Leave a comment

Filed under recipe, sandwich

Leave a Reply

