Good Sunday reading

Ciabatta w Cardamom Peach Butter

I love Calvin Trillin. If you read a lot of food writing, you might be saying “Oh, that’s so so obvious.” Or maybe”Oh, that’s so unoriginal.” Or maybe you’re thinking “WTF is Calvin Trillin?” I’m thinking “WTF is his website?”

The New Yorker’s food issue has been beckoning to me from the little wooden table beside the couch for going on two weeks. It seemed late this year; its arrival has claimed a time slot in my brain closer to mid-August. But last night, after I remembered I’d taken a lower dose of prednisone yesterday morning (and mentally justified the general physical crankiness I felt all day), I finally settled deep into our red armchair with some ginger tea and The Issue. As usual, my pal Calvin showed up inside, and came through again, this time with a piece on Singaporean street food.

Which reminds me: My friend Pat, who was born in Jakarta and raised in Singapore (and doesn’t read the New Yorker regularly, but will now have to read at least one article, because I have to know how she feels about the Makansutra) is working on a book called The Asian Grandmothers Cook Book. It’ll be a compilation of recipes from all over Asia that have been handed down through the generations. Pat is looking for recipe contributions. Drop me a comment below if you’re interested in finding out more. (Hint: You need to have at least a few Asian ancestors.)

Anyway, this morning I read Adam Gopnik’s piece, and ate ciabatta with cardamom peach butter, and took a slightly bigger hit of the ol’ steroid, and things looked much brighter than yesterday. And I still have the second half of the issue to look forward to.

Also on my reading list:

Gluten-Free Girl: How I Found the Food That Loves Me Back…And How You Can Too by Shauna James Ahern

Because how could one turn down a big dose of Shauna’s prose?

The Last Chinese Chef by Nicole Mones

Kathy gave me her copy, and so far I like it.

How to Cook a Wolf by MFK Fisher

Ethan Stowell is opening a new place on Queen Anne called How to Cook a Wolf. I want to actually read it from start to finish, instead of reading it piecemeal like I have in the past, to figure out whether he’s just found a good name, or if he’s actually digging down into her meaning with his new concept.

Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life by Barbara Kingsolver

Still haven’t read it. Her take on being a locavore in Virginia for a year.

The Omnivore’s Dilemma: A Natural History of Four Meals by Michael Pollan

Yes, I’ve read it. And its offspring. But I recently got my own paperback copy in the mail, and I just can’t seem to get enough.

Leave a comment

Filed under media

Leave a Reply

