269: Almond-Dusted Green Beans

Almond-Dusted Green Beans 1

Almond-Dusted Green Beans (PDF)
Recipe 269 of 365

Green beans, butter, and almonds are a fairly typical combination. Here’s something similar, done in a not-so-typical way: The green beans are coated with olive oil and chopped garlic, then sprinkled with almond meal and roasted in a hot oven. The texture is unique, and it’s a quick side dish that’s convenient if you already have something in the oven.

Find almond meal at Trader Joe’s, or make it by grinding almonds in a food processor until finely chopped but not yet buttery.

TIME: 10 minutes active time
MAKES: 4 servings

1 pound green beans, trimmed and dried
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 clove garlic, very finely chopped
1/4 cup almond meal
Salt and freshly ground pepper

Preheat the oven to 450 degrees.

Place the green beans in a mixing bowl. Add the oil and garlic, and toss to coat. Add the almond meal, and mix again to coat all the beans evenly. Spread the beans out on a parchment-covered baking sheet, season with salt and pepper, and bake on the upper rack of the oven for 20 minutes, or until al dente. Serve immediately.

4 Comments

Filed under recipe, side dish, vegetables

4 responses to “269: Almond-Dusted Green Beans

  1. Rachel H.

    I’m very tempted to pick up some almond meal on my next trip to TJ’s. I would definitely do it if you could offer some other recipes with ideas on what to do with the REST of the bag. I assume one bag has a lot more than 1/4 cup.

    Also, a recipe request for next time you bust out the ice cream maker: cinnamon ice cream with a smooth texture. All the recipes I’ve seen call for ground cinnamon, but I find I can feel the cinnamon grit in the ice cream. I’ve seen cinnamon oil at Christina’s in Inman Sq, but I don’t know how that flavor compares to ground. Also, I’ve thought of simmering the milk with cinnamon sticks for a while and then removing them but I have no idea how many I would need for a strong enough flavor.

  2. I just opened my bag, too, so I’ll figure out what to do with the rest – yes, the bags are big. In the meantime, keep it sealed and frozen.

    ICE cream? You must be in New England, where I hear it’s still summer. But if it heats back up in Seattle, you’re on. (But yes, perhaps a combo of the oil and 3 or 4 sticks simmered in the cream would work.)

  3. Cheryl

    These are excellent, Jess. I made them for dinner last night and couldn’t stop eating them. Something about the sweet, buttery almonds and the salt (I used a good bit) really worked for me (and my son Alex, who, oddly, loves all veggies). Super tasty, easy recipe — as always!

  4. Brooke

    I did this by steaming the beans and then sprinkling with almond meal then a drizzle of oil and salt, I skipped the garlic and it was fantastic. They are so satisfying. The texture is divine.

    Afterwards I googled and found your blog.. we must be on the same wavelength.

    -Brooke in Seattle

Leave a Reply

