94 to go

I’m not gonna lie to you. Today, I don’t feel like doing this. My hands still ache from peeling apples for applesauce, my body is fighting to recover from hiking or horseback riding (still?) or maybe 7 mg, and I just want to eat take-out three nights in a row like a normal person, sitting on a couch in front of some form of canned entertainment. I can’t wait for this effing year to end.

Chunky Chickpea Vegetable Soup  2

Chunky Chickpea Vegetable Soup (PDF)
Recipe 270 of 365

Spiked with lemon and fresh herbs, this soup combines the heartiness of minestrone with the healing powers of chicken noodle. Add zucchini, bell peppers, or baby spinach, or make it heartier by stirring in cooked pasta, rice, or wheat berries at the end.

TIME: 45 minutes total
MAKES: 2 to 4 servings

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 heaping cup chopped onion (from 1/2 large onion)
Salt and freshly ground pepper
2 carrots, peeled and cut into 1/2” pennies
3 celery stalks, cut into 1/2” half moons
2 cloves garlic, chopped
1 teaspoon chopped fresh thyme
1 large tomato (about 3/4 pound), chopped
2 cups chicken stock
1 (15-ounce) can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
1 tablespoon chopped fresh parsley (or basil)
2 tablespoons freshly-squeezed lemon juice
Parmesan cheese, for serving

Heat a soup pot over medium heat. When hot, add the oil, then the onions, and season with salt and pepper. Cook for 5 minutes, stirring, until the onions begin to soften. Add the carrots, celery, garlic, and thyme, and cook another 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Add the tomatoes and the chicken stock, bring to a simmer, and cook for 15 minutes, or until the carrots are cooked through. Add the chickpeas, and simmer five minutes more. Stir in the parsley and lemon juice, season to taste with additional salt and pepper, if necessary, and serve with grated Parmesan cheese.

9 Comments

Filed under recipe, soup, vegetables

9 responses to “94 to go

  1. Jaimi

    sorry to hear you’re feeling…done. i sympathize for totally different reasons, but all i can say is that when you’re finished with this “effing year,” you’ll be happy you had the whole experience. just. keep. truckin’.

  2. kathy g

    hang in there girl…..the soup looks good enough to make us all go on…

  3. Kelly

    I’ve lurked on here for a long time, and just want to give you a bit of encouragement in your time of frustration. Having just moved to Seattle in this past year, I visit often to see how you’re making the best of what’s fresh and local. And I credit you for the inspiration to get into the kitchen and cook, rather than sitting in front of the tv with take out one too many nights.

    I know it must be rough, but we’re out here reading, and appreciating your effort! Keep up the good work, just imagine the wealth of material you’ll have when you’re finally finished.

  4. Cheryl

    I hear you. If it makes you feel any better, I just logged on to your site for your slow-cooker beef recipe (with TJ’s green salsa) because it sounded so perfect and easy. I hardly ever use epicurious anymore! Chin up, friend — you’re inspiring us all.

  5. Times come when the inspiree must take a break. Rest and know that better days will come.

  6. Kim

    I remember finding your site because I was searching for a phad thai recipe about 6 months ago. One of the things that gets me reading your site almost daily is that you put a lot of yourself and your personal story into the making of the recipe. Sometimes it’s hysterical, sometimes slow, sometimes raw and sharp. And to be honest, sometimes I read your site just to read your story, not so much about the food.

    I remember this great buddhist statement about how we often struggle through events and moments and projects. We fire up a whirlwind of emotions, and then when the moment, the event, the project is over then it is just that: over.

    Hang tight, Jess. Breathe. Nap. Soon it will be over. But I’ll admit, I don’t want it to be over. I like what you do, and I’m thankful for it. But I know it’s hard sometimes, and I hear you. Whatever form this takes when it’s over, I’ll be back to read it. And while it may be over soon, the path that took you there will have left beauty and wonder in its place.

    p.s. think squash

  7. Hey Jess! I’ve been lurking for ages too with sporadic posts. I too come back nearly every day to see your incredible pictures and hear about the goings on in your life. I’m sorry that things are wearing you down, but we’re all here for you!

  8. Auntie Erica

    Well, I have to say, I’ve been nursing a nasty little respiratory infection for a couple weeks now and after fifty bucks in soup from Whole Paycheck and the frustration of being sick and having to shell out such big bucks for a little something to that was supposed to make me feel better, I was desperate for a cheaper version of their soup and one that could calm my mood as much as my cough…I think this recipe is gonna do it! Hang in there girl! You really are an inspiration to us all!

  9. Thank you – thank you all so very much. I’m still here, and listening, and you’re helping more than you know.

Leave a Reply

