324: Roasted cauliflower with tapenade and feta

Real goat’s milk feta – the soft kind that comes submerged in water, not the kind that’s pressed into a sterile-looking cryovacked block – is a most amazing melter. It doesn’t fold in on itself and sort of wilt like the less expensive forms of feta, but blooms as it warms, swells with pride in its own sharp, tangy flavor. Like tapenade, it’s a universal picker-upper. Add it to something whose flavor might not shine so brightly for you on its own, like roasted zucchini, broccoli, or green beans.

cauliflower with tapenade and feta

Cauliflower with Tapenade and Goat’s Milk Feta
Recipe 324 of 365

(Serves 2 cauliflower lovers)

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Cut the florets from half a two-pound head of cauliflower and dump them in a big baking dish. Drizzle with two teaspoons of olive oil, season with salt and pepper, and toss to mix. Roast for 15 minutes. Add about 1/4 cup good olive tapenade to the cauliflower, dropping it in little bits right onto the florets and maybe smearing it around a bit. Roast another 15 minutes or so, until the cauliflower is soft and browned in spots. Serve immediately, topped with crumbled fresh goat’s milk feta.

3 Comments

Filed under gluten-free, recipe, side dish, vegetables

3 responses to “324: Roasted cauliflower with tapenade and feta

  1. It’s true! I love fresh feta (they have it in bulk at the PCC) in scrambled eggs and basically everywhere, when previously I thought of it as just a salty cheese to eat only on Greek foods. It melts so easily and tastes wonderful. However, I recently discovered that fresh mozzarella is opposite. I mean, I love it, but it goes bad quickly and doesn’t melt very nicely–it’s far better to eat right away.

  2. It seems that I always have a container of feta languishing unloved in the back of my fridge. I love it, but I buy it for a recipe and then forget about it (love it and leave it, that’s heartless of me). Thanks for the wake-up call. My poor feta needs to be put to use!

  3. I love roasted cauliflower, but I always do it the same way, with a sprinkle of cumin and salt. I really like the tapenade and feta idea – I’ll have to try it next time I have good goat feta going to waste in the fridge (always seems to happen when I buy it).

Leave a Reply

