Your turn

Oh, December. This is really happening. I think I’m going to finish this project. I won’t stop blogging, of course. But I will stop writing a recipe every day. Good heavens, it’s getting old.

I was going to make you a list. You know, favorites, of the 334 recipes I’ve given you in 2007. (You guessed it: 31 to go.)

But then I got an email about the Food Blog Awards, and it occurred to me that maybe you should give me a list. What have been your favorites this year? What have you liked reading about? Anything from hogwash that you’ve made over and over? Anything (Eek, do I want the answer to this?) that’s been a total failure?

Do tell.

Radicchio, Apple, and Pecan Slaw 2

Radicchio, Apple, and Pecan Slaw (PDF)
Recipe 335 of 365

Over Thanksgiving, I had a wonderful wintry radicchio salad, with apples and walnuts, and a creamy dressing I guessed was made with goat cheese. It was delicious, but the flavors were too separated: I’d get a hunk of apple in one bite, then a whole walnut with an awkward wedge of radicchio, then four more apple pieces. I wanted all its flavors to meld together in my mouth at once; I wanted a fantasy bite every time.

Here’s a slaw that gets the job done. Serve it as is, or wrap it into tortillas with leftover roasted chicken.

TIME: 10 minutes
MAKES: 4 servings

1 head radicchio (about 1/2 pound), outer leaves removed and cored
1 tart apple, like Granny Smith, cut into wedges
1/2 cup chopped toasted pecans
2 ounces (about 1/4 cup) crumbled goat’s milk feta
1 tablespoon Meyer lemon juice (or regular lemon juice)
3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 tablespoon chopped fresh parsley
Salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste

Grate the radicchio and apple in a food processor. Transfer to a mixing bowl, stir in the remaining ingredients, and serve.

6 Comments

Filed under recipe, salad, vegetables

6 responses to “Your turn

  1. We make so many Hogwash recipes, my list would be way too long if I listed everything we have made, plus, we like it all! These are the ones that top the list because they are amazing and we have made them over and over and they are fairly recently posted. So far, nothing has been a flop. If it comes close I blame it on my hacking attempts at culinary expertise, not your recipes.

    #1: Goat Cheese Cheesecake
    #2: Chocolate Basil flourless tort
    #3: Turkey Burritos
    #4: Brussels Sprouts wrapped in Procuttio
    #5: Honey Nut Vanilla Granola
    #6: Chocolate Chocolate Espresso Cookies
    #7: Hottie Biscotti
    #8: Lamb and White Bean Chilli
    #9: Stir-Fried Kabocha with Ginger and Scallions
    #10: Baby Beets with Yogurt Sauce

    I have to say, I will be sad when January rolls around and I can’t sit down at the computer and be like, ok, Jess, what’s for dinner tonight? I can almost always find something posted recently that is relevant and great. Or even sometimes too timely (since I think we shop the same farmers markets and stores), when I see the day’s post and I am like, man, I bought that too, and we already had it last night, only mine sucked in comparison to this. Good thing there’s 30 more left, and then are archives, right?

    Thanks!

  2. Annie

    I just found your blog a few weeks ago and haven’t tried any recipes yet, but yesterday I went back through the archives and found several that I will definitely use. Aside from the recipes, I love the way you write and would read the blog just for that. Yours is one of the few food blogs I check daily and I’m grateful for your commitment to “the project”.

  3. Hilary

    The brownies, always the brownies. They have made me famous at more than one event.

  4. Ditto the goatcheese cheesecake, the vanilla granola, and the brussels sprouts. Also, the potato lollipops, sauteed kale with garlic, and the pumpkin sour cream coffeecake, olive oil cake, and whole wheat cinnamon rolls.

  5. The whole grain biscotti, carrot salad, roasted string beans with almond meal, tilapia tacos… jeez, this is what I’m thinking off the top of my head but if I had time to go through them all i guarantee i could come up with scores more. And there are so many i want to make but just haven’t yet. I need the Jess Thomson cookbook and, frankly, I need it now.

  6. Thanks, guys. Good to hear what YOU think is tasty.

Leave a Reply

