Not so sweet

Spiced Honey 2

Knives are sharp. I use them every day. Statistically, it’s a wonder I haven’t chopped off both hands by now. I often cut without watching what I’m doing, because I feel pretty confident in my knife skills.

But this morning – monotasking, mind you, and watching the cutting board and the rosemary I was chopping quite carefully – I cut my index fingernail off. Just took a nice fat sliver out, from the cuticle to the tip.

That finger? It’s a digit I use quite frequently. It’s my mouse finger, for instance. I didn’t even know I had a mouse finger before now, and it turns out I’m a moron with my middle finger. It’s taken me seven minutes to type this far, instead of one.

The rosemary biscotti had to wait, so I mustered up something that required a bit less coordination. Inspired by an anise honey I had drizzled over crab beignets (insert dramatic sigh here) at The Barking Frog the other night, this honey’s infused with anise, cinnamon, and clove. This morning I wrapped some up as a gift, then drizzled the rest over French toast made with EBC‘s orange-honey bread.

Spice-Infused Honey
Recipe 342 of 365

Bring 1 pound clover honey, 2 star anise, 1 whole cinnamon stick, and 2 cloves to a simmer in a small saucepan over medium heat. Let bubble gently for 2 minutes, then cool, pour into a jar, and seal. Use to sweeten yogurt or tea, or serve drizzled over soft cheeses or sliced fruit.

Spiced Honey 3

3 Comments

Filed under dessert, recipe

3 responses to “Not so sweet

  1. Dear Jess,
    Hello. I am Tammy. I read your blog every day, or nearly everyday, reading the missed ones together after a busy spell. I love how and what you write about. I envy the way (even though it must be a hassle at times) you write a recipe every day. We have tried quite a few of them. This honey one sounds like a lot of fun. One year I made gift sets for friends with flavored honey I got from a local bee owner. One was a praline honey. It was the biggest hit. I also made a really fun one with red hots and cherry chunks. I loved that one best. The other was infused with orange and some spice ( I can’t recall which one). I wish I would have written down the recipes, I kind of made them up as I went.

    I am also responding, late though I am, to the posting where you wondered who was reading, were we making any of your recipes, etc. I felt kind of bad that I did not respond then. I just did not have time. I usually just read and go. I guess you could call me a “lerker.” I am sure that I am not alone.

    I hope that these comments that I am sending to you with a glowing smile will fuel you when you wonder if it is worth your time.

    Happy Holidays!
    Tammy
    http://needtocreate.blogspot.com/

  2. Tammy, that’s so sweet. Thanks for reading!

  3. Pingback: Back on that horse « hogwash

Leave a Reply

