Peas and onions

Ginger-Roasted peas and onions

The peas I’ve been planting all spring are dying with the dependability of Henry VIII’s wives. The first planting succumbed to frost, the second to shade. The third was a victim of dog trampling, the fourth made a slug family’s lunch. I do believe I’m on my fifth try. While my neighbor’s vines sprout edibles, my tendrils struggle skyward, inching their way – well, millimetering, really, to be generous – toward the strings I’ve set out for them to climb. I’m not exactly holding my breath for them to produce and, I’ll admit, I’ve been unfaithful. I bought peas at the farmers’ market this week. (Finally.) I wonder if this time, they’ll die of depression.

pre-peeled cipolline onions

I thought I’d stir some together with cream, or pasta, something traditional, but when I found my very favorite onion, the sweet-sexy cipolline, so conveniently pre-peeled at Trader Joe’s, something else came up.

This should feed four, but my husband and I finished the dish off together without a problem.

Ginger-Roasted Peas and Onions (PDF)
Peas and onions have always made good spring bedfellows. Here, they take a turn away from their traditional form. Roasted first with ginger, garlic, soy and rice wine vinegar, soft cipolline onions are baked again with snap peas, so instead of creamy and heavy, the result is sharp and fresh. The juices simmer down into a lovely glaze. Serve with grilled fish and a fresh green salad.

TIME: 10 minutes prep time
MAKES: 2 to 4 servings

1/2 pound small to medium cipolline onions, peeled
2 teaspoons soy sauce
1 tablespoon rice wine vinegar
2 teaspoons sesame oil
1 clove garlic, finely chopped
1 teaspoon finely grated fresh ginger
1/4 pound snap peas

cipolline onions to be roasted

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Combine all ingredients except the peas in a small baking dish, and roast for 30 to 40 minutes, shaking the pan once or twice, or until the liquid has reduced to a glaze and the bottom of the onions are beginning to brown. (If the pan gets too dry, add a tablespoon or two of water and shake the pan to release any brown bits.)

(Note: You can prepare the dish ahead up to this point, set aside, and finish right before dinner.)

Stir the peas in with the onions, and roast another 10 minutes, or until the peas are bright. Serve immediately.

3 Comments

Filed under recipe, side dish, vegetables

3 responses to “Peas and onions

  1. I’m having the same problem with my strawberry plants. (Frankly, it’s starting to tick me off.) Happily, though, I have more basil than you can shake a stick at. Now if only I had a cipolline onion plant…

  2. Cathy

    This is unrelated to your above post, but I finally got around to making your Butter-Titrated brownies this weekend, and they were incredible. A thing of indulgence and greatness and fudgy deliciousness. Thank you so much for that recipe. It made my weekend.

  3. Glad to hear it, Cathy! Could use one of those myself right NOW.

Leave a Reply

