A soup of my own

There are a lot of days when I don’t make it out of my pajamas – not because I’m a naturally lazy person (I’m the opposite, to a fault), but because I rev up to full speed before it occurs to me to change. If I showed you a photo of the hairdo worn to create every recipe here, I guarantee you’d make fewer of them.

These are the days I like being on the radio. A microphone is much more forgiving than a camera. And like people, there are some recipes that just aren’t meant for magazines.

Matzo ball soup with parsley and lemon zest looks great on the radio. I’ve tried to photograph it. I know these girls could do it, and do it well, but me? Not this time.

Click here to listen to me talking about my mother’s matzo ball soup on the radio.

The lesson from Mom: It’s important to choose where you spend your time, then to not feel guilty about your choices. Here’s my matzo ball soup (PDF). (And a hint: Sometimes knowing when not to cook is as important as knowing how.)

3 Comments

Filed under recipe, soup

3 responses to “A soup of my own

  1. Kristin

    Jess, you’re making me crave matzo ball soup. And it’s 70 degrees outside. This is a problem.🙂

  2. Just love your hint at the end. I’ve never tried to make matzo ball soup but I might have to give it a go after reading your blog. Thanks for sharing!

  3. I just had my first matzo ball soup a few weeks back, at a friend’s passover, and was bowled over by its deliciousness. So unassuming to look at, so addictive to eat!

Leave a Reply

