Caramelized Rhubarb Jam

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Say the word jam, and I usually take a moment’s pause. Jam means fruit, and summer, and hot buttered sourdough toast. But more than anything, I usually associate jam with time, because making it – between the chopping and stirring and mothering and jarring – requires a luxury of hours that doesn’t pass by my calendar all that often.

This jam, though. It’s a caramelized rhubarb jam. It’s roasted, not simmered, and it’s really too quick to require a true recipe. Mix four pounds of chopped rhubarb with a cup of sugar, the juice of a lemon, and a split vanilla bean, and roast it at 350 degrees for two hours or so, stirring just once. The stalks will collapse as the sugar caramelizes, creating a rich panful of brick-colored jam – a good-sized jar for home and two jars for sharing – that’s as at home on a slice of toast as it is snuggled next to a smear of peanut butter.

Of course, if you eat it with a spoon, I won’t tell. I’ll just ask for another spoon.

14 Comments

Filed under Breakfast, recipe

14 responses to “Caramelized Rhubarb Jam

  1. Oh my. I know what I’m doing tonight!!!

  2. Thanks so much for sharing…it sounds delicious and easy!! yum yumm

  3. Emma

    This looks/sounds awesome! Can’t wait to try it!
    Do you think I get away with cutting the recipe in half? Organic rhubarb is tres cher in my neck of the woods, but this is really worth trying.

  4. frank

    Did you do this on a pan or in a pot?

  5. Jenna

    And now adding buy rhubarb to my list of things to do today.

  6. Caramelized rhubarb jam!! I knew I liked you.

  7. Geraldine

    I have rhubarb growing in my backyard and I’m always looking for stuff to do with it, if I can get past the brambles that are caging it from me. So yummy! Is this recipe good for canning or more of a keep-in-the-fridge-and-eat-in-a-week kind of jam?

  8. Jodie

    hmmmm I love rhubarb. I make a rhubarb relish but havent made jam out of it. My kids would love it.

  9. Great idea, sounds delicious. Rhubarb in Hawaii, does it exist here? Mostly I wanted to say Graham is so beautiful..xx

  10. @Emma, yes, you should be able to cut this in half – only do it in a smaller pan, like a 9 x 13-incher.
    @Frank, do it in a big roasting pan
    @Geraldine, You k now, I did it as a spoon-out-of-the-fridge sort of jam, but I bet it would can very well. You might want to make more, though, because the amount this “recipe” makes doesn’t last long…

  11. Pingback: Local Eats » Blog Archive » Rhubarbia

  12. Gosh, this sounds so wonderful – I need to go hunting for rhubarb! Such a nice change from “dump cake”:)

  13. Faye Dunbar

    Im going to try it sounds good, I just made rhurbarb syrup its good also

  14. Pingback: Dayenu |

Leave a comment