Daily Archives: May 23, 2007

Breakfast fun

I piled ripe, fragrant mango slices, frozen peaches, a banana, creamy “Australian-style” yogurt, and some coconut milk into the blender this morning for a breakfasty version of my beloved mango lassi (and read that Wikipedia entry closely, it looks like there’s a version of lassi that involves marijuana – how’s that for a new take on putting pot in your food?).

After I poured it into glasses, I regretted having used all the mango. I wished out loud that I had some sort of garnish, because it looked so plain just sitting there on the counter in a stemless wine glass, which was totally the wrong shoe for the occasion, if you know what I mean.

Luckily, my husband was at the ready with his creative powers. First, he stuck his finger in the smoothie as garnish. Then he grabbed a banana (peel on), and stuck that in instead. He headed back to the fruit bowl for more inspiration so fast that he didn’t even recognize that he’d created a drowning duck out of food:

Banana duck 1

But, of course, he couldn’t leave well enough alone:

Balancing act

“Now I bet you wished I worked from home,” he said.

Recipe for Mango-Peach Smoothie
Recipe 143 of 365

You may garnish your smoothie however you choose. My husband recommends whole fruit.

TIME: 5 minutes
MAKES: 2 big smoothies

Flesh of 1 large, ripe mango
1 ripe banana
8 slices frozen peaches (or 1 ripe peach, peeled and sliced)
1/2 cup plain yogurt
1/2 cup light coconut milk

Combine all the ingredients in a blender or food processor, and puree until smooth.

1 Comment

Filed under Breakfast, fruit, husband, recipe