Daily Archives: April 10, 2011

Two years

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

No recipe today, just a quick hello.

For our refrigerator, the last few weeks have been awfully strange. First we were away. A few days after we got back, I got sick – only it was a beast of a thing. It wiped me out for days on end, so it’s probably more accurate to say I fell ill. It felt like falling in so many ways. I didn’t eat a proper meal for 6 days, until a lovely soul brought me homemade matzo ball soup at just the right time. I lost 11 pounds. I had trouble walking far, and thinking straight, and the part of me that’s me just wasn’t there. Then, as soon as it had come, it left.

When I was up again, it was suddenly Graham’s 2nd birthday, and the refrigerator was taken over by this cake. Yes, I made it, with cream cheese frosting and wheels made out of Thin Mints. The design wasn’t exactly my idea; it was Betty’s. (She’s so creative, that one!) I’ve never spent so much time making something so ridiculous, and I loved it. So did Graham.

I have a pot of pasta e fagioli on the stove this cloudy Sunday morning, simmering the age out of the kale and carrots and celery and leeks that have hibernated in the produce drawer through all of this, neglected but patient. And now, I have a fridge full of possibilities. Tonight there will be cari ga, a Vietnamese-style chicken curry stew with Kabocha squash and rice noodles, for the book. Tomorrow there will be an apple crisp, and possibly Thanksgiving in April, because what else is April 11th good for if not roasting a bird? There might be whole wheat cinnamon pull-apart bread, and roasted tomatoes, and the ultimate vinaigrette – not together, of course, but all there.

But this morning, there’s just the simmering.

7 Comments

Filed under recipe